Deckwar voted league's best

Chloe Deckwar didn't lead the Ashland High girls soccer team in goals or assists, but her impact on games was a major force throughout the season for the Grizzlies. The Southern Sky Conference coaches acknowledged as much, voting the junior midfielder/forward the 2008 SSC player of the year.

"She's the captain of the team and she's got a very competitive spirit," Ashland head coach Eric Wolff said of Deckwar. "Girls are brought up to be not as competitive as boys but she is, so it's nice that she has that. She's one of those players that refuses to give up and refuses to lose."

Deckwar was one of 10 AHS players to make the all-star team. Five Grizzlies were voted onto the first team and five on the second. Only league champion Crater came close to that all-star haul, with five first-teamers and three second-team selections, plus two honorable mentions.

Joining Deckwar on the first team were teamates Annika Hearn (sophomore defender), Riley Smith (sophomore forward), Katelyn Walker (sophomore defender) and Kai Yearsly (junior midfielder). Ashland's second-team selections were: Heather Case (junior defender), Kelsey McKinnis (senior midfielder), Raven Susu-Mago (junior forward), Carolyn Thomas (junior midfielder) and Taylor Zehren (freshman forward).

"I think everyone recognized that we probably had the most talented team," Wolff said. "I guess you never go in with expectations, you go in with hopes, but I also feel like that's a fair representation of the talent that was out there."

Deckwar had five goals and three assists for the Grizzlies, who finished second to Crater in the SSC before losing to eventual state champion Bend in the state quarterfinals. She started the season playing midfielder for Ashland but was eventually moved to striker.

"Her versatility helped, too," Wolff said. "She's got all the attributes that you want to have in a good player."

Zehren had a team-high seven goals to go with two assists, while Smith finished the season with four goals and a team-best six assists.

Yearsly scored twice with an assist and Walker had one assist.

Mazama's Angela Durant was voted the SSC coach of the year after guiding the Vikings to a third-place finish.


Player, school Pos Grade

Cassie Boykin, Eagle Point Def Soph

Kayla Burns, Crater Fwd Soph

Chloe Deckwar, Ashland Mid Jr

Annika Hearn, Ashland Def Soph

Taylor McGee, Crater Fwd Jr

Katie Orr, Crater GK Sr

Amber Parker, Crater Def Soph

Erica Rasor, Eagle Point Mid Jr

Riley Smith, Ashland Fwd Soph

Caitlin Sprenger, Crater Mid Sr

Katelyn Walker, Ashland Def Soph

Kai Yearsley, Ashland Mid Jr

Player of the Year — Chloe Deckwar, Ashland

Coach of the Year — Angela Durant, Mazama


Player, school Pos Grade

Solmoy Austbo, Mazama Mid Sr

Cari Burt, Crater Def Sr

Heather Case, Ashland Ded Jr

Amanda Dalton, Crater Mid Jr

Darian Grigsby, Mazama Fwd Jr

Melissa Jones, Mazama GK Sr

Sarah Lilley, Eagle Point Fwd Soph

Kelsey McKinnis, Ashland Mid Sr

Veronica Miller, Klamath Union Mid Sr

Tarren Mitchell, Crater Def Jr

Raven Susu-Mago, Ashland Fwd Jr

Carolyn Thomas, Ashland Mid Jr

Danielle Welch, Mazama Def Soph

Taylor Zehren, Ashland Fwd Frosh


Kanee Chocktoot, KU, defense; Maria Dominguez, Mazama, midfield; Audra Lundy, KU, midfield; Tessa Reynolds, KU, goalkeeper; Leona Steel, Crater, defense; Kelsey Wickham, KU, defense; Erica Williams, Crater, forward; Haylie Winner, Eagle Point, defense.

Share This Story