More honors for Grizz

Great teamwork propelled Ashland to the 5A boys soccer state championship game in November. Rival coaches noticed, and rewarded the Grizzlies with five all-state selections.

Nate Roupp, Simon Linsday and Wes Overland earned first-team honors and Tias Fitzpatrick and Adam Pavlich were second-team selections as the OSAA Class 5A all-state team was announced Tuesday. The biggest postseason awards haul in team history fittingly came on the heels of the most successful season in team history, one that didn't end until Churchill beat Ashland 3-1 in the state finals.

Churchill's Spencer Treffry was named the player of the year and Churchill's Dave Peterson was the coach of the year. Ashland had more all-state selections than any other team; the state-champion Lancers were a close second with four picks.

"Having five players in the top ranks statewide is a salute to every player on the team," Ashland head coach Brad Roupp said. "The efforts that the players have put into this - playing statewide premiere soccer for all of these years, this summer's lifting regimen and their focused efforts throughout the season - have paid off for each teammate. We had a motto this season which was "Play hard, play smart, have fun" and we did it all. Team efforts like this stick for life."

Nate Roupp, Linsday, Overland and Fitzpatrick are all seniors, while Pavlich is a junior.

Nate Roupp, the Southern Sky Conference player of the year, led the Grizzlies in both goals (18) and assists (12) from the midfield. He scored the Grizzlies' lone goal in the state championship game, a 30-yard boot that gave Ashland an early lead.

"I think we had a great season and it couldn't really go any higher except winning that last game," Nate Roupp said. "This shows that we deserved to be on the top level. "¦ Our team worked really well together and it showed."

Linsday finished the season with 14 goals and six assists, while Pavlich had 16 goals and four assists.

Overland and Fitzpatrick spearheaded the Grizzlies' brick-wall defense, which allowed just one goal in the first three rounds of the 2008 playoffs. Overland had nine shutouts and saved a penalty shot by Treffry to briefly keep Ashland's title hopes alive against Churchill.

"It's really exciting," Overaland said. "I didn't think I was going to make it so it was pretty cool. I think more of our players deserved to be (all-state), but it's still amazing that five players made it from our team."

Class 5A


Pos Player School Year

MF Spencer Treffry Churchill sr.

MF Nate Roupp Ashland sr.

F Kyle Smurdon Sherwood sr.

F Richie Carrillo Crook County sr.

MF Evan Keny-Guyer Cleveland sr.

D Patrick Frey-Frankenfield Corvallis sr.

MF T.J. Prentice Churchill sr.

F Austin Crook Bend jr.

F Simon Linsday Ashland sr.

D/MF Juan Gasca Woodburn sr.

MF/D Alex Penney Glencoe sr.

GK Weston Overland Ashland sr.

Player of the year: Spencer Treffry, Churchill, sr.

Coach of the year: Dave Peterson, Churchill


Pos Player School Year

MF Patrick DeYoung Cleveland sr.

M Tias Fitzpatrick Ashland sr.

D Travis Robbins Crater sr.

MF Tadd Kilmer Bend jr.

D Eric Wonn Churchill sr.

MF Ian Salisbury Churchill sr.

D Mitchell Chavez Hillsboro sr.

F/D Nathan Crooks North Eugene jr.

D Jared Doolan Bend jr.

F Adam Pavlich Ashland jr.

GK Ryan Jacobson Mountain View sr.

Share This Story