AHS team heads to National Brain Bowl

Ashland High School's Grizzlies beat the North Medford High School Black Tornado in the 2011 Varsity Brain Bowl Championship Sunday night at Southern Oregon Public Television studios in Medford.

The win qualifies Ashland to represent Southern Oregon in this summer's National Brain Bowl, a competition similar to the television show "Jeopardy!"

In the middle school category, the Fleming Rogues edged out the Talent Bulldogs to win the Middle School Brain Bowl Championship, also qualifying for nationals.

Southern Oregon Brain Bowl is a partnership among Southern Oregon University's Pre-College Youth Programs, the Southern Oregon Educational Service District and Southern Oregon Public Television. More than 450 students participate each year and the competition is open to students attending all public and private schools in the region.

Working with teachers as coaches, the most successful teams exhibit collaboration, teamwork, confidence and a willingness to take risks, according to a SOPTV press release.

Here are members of the teams that made the semi-finals:

  • Ashland High School: coach Matthew McKinnon, captain Zach Markovitch and members Mikhail Boldt, Carl Gorbett, Zach Markovitch, Dylan Schink, Michael Skidmore and Ian Wurfl.
  • North Medford High School: coach Lorna MacIver, captain: Doug Beick and members Beick, Evan Carlson, Travis Hamilton, James Lancaster, Sandra Schaefer and Josh Tanner.
  • Fleming Middle School: coach Yvonne Hughes, captain Hope Gurzell, Rochelle Banta, Corinne Biencourt, Jaston Burri, Corina Gemini, Jordan Gillespie, David Graves, Peter Gundersen, Gurzell, Emma Lagorio, Cassie Logan, Catherine Morrison, Monica Munch, Eleanor Polk, Parin Rau, Asya Ray, Kestrel Ray, Jake Roberts and Sarah Works.
  • Talent Middle School: coach Tim Egan, captain Sophie Stricker, and members Tyler Crawford, Katie Duffie, Lhiam Howard, Ethan Shepherd, Aniesha Snowton, Lucas Stella, Sophie Stricker, Vivian Le, Mason Harty, Casssidy Bailey, Rain Milam, Jacob Caster, Danielle Hein, Tyler Hein, Erica Hofseth, Austin Kleha, Sarah Pierce, Daylin Snee and Karisa Waldron.

Share This Story