Kiwanis club announces 2010 scholarship awards

On June 1, the Kiwanis Club of Ashland announced seven scholarship awards to students of the Ashland High School at the annual Scholarships and Awards Program. This event, for the class of 2010, was held at the AHS Mountain Avenue Theatre.

Scholarships were awarded as follows:

Tommy Laird Kiwanis Scholarships (Student of the Month)

Brandon Scheirman — $1,000

Skye Taylor — $1,000

Athletic Scoreboard Scholarships

Kalli Walker — $1,000

Luke Baldrica — $1,000

Kiwanis Youth Foundation of Southern Oregon Scholarships

Itzel Perez-Zaragoza — $250

Ugyen Dorje — $250

Key Clubber of the Year Scholarship:

Abby Kollar — $1,000

The Kiwanis awards were presented by members Chad Smith, Don Paul, Russ Chadick, and Jeanne Walcher

The four contributors to the Scoreboard Scholarship funds are Ashland Home Net, Avista Utilities, Bear Creek Animal Clinic, and Jon Snowdon of State Farm Insurance.

To learn more about the Ashland Kiwanis Club and its programs for children and others in the community, call 541-488-0532, or visit the Web site at

Share This Story