SOU faculty, staff earn honors

Staff reports

The local chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society, has recognized five faculty and staff members at Southern Oregon University for excellence in their fields.

Nominated by students, the following were honored at the Southern Oregon Arts and Research reception on May 21:

  • Dr. Alena Amato Ruggerio, associate professor of communication, was honored with the Scholarship Award.
  • Matt Sayre, interim director of athletics, was honored with the Athletics Award, recognizing his commitment to Raider spirit.
  • Dennis Dunleavy, associate professor of communication, was presented with the Journalism, Speech and Mass Media honor.
  • Dr. Dee Southard, program director at SOU for the Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program, was presented with the award for excellence in Campus/Community Service, Social Religious Activities and Campus Government.
  • Chris Sackett, chairman and associate professor in the Department of Theatre Arts, received the award for Creative and Performing Arts.

For information, visit or call 1-800-482-7672.

Share This Story