1004813759 Montgomery4.jpg
Ashland High senior Myles Montgomery (52).(PHOTO BY: LARRY STAUTH JR)

Montgomery headlines Ashland's all-league picks

A total of seven Ashland High football players earn all-league recognition from Midwestern League South Division coaches, it was announced late last week.

Two Grizzlies earned first team honors — senior linebacker Myles Montgomery and senior punter Brett Stone.

Two seniors shared Offensive Player of the Year honors — Eagle Point wide receiver Noah Page and Churchill quarterback Demontre Thomas — while Churchill linebacker Beau Burnett was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Churchill’s AJ Robinson was named Coach of the Year after leading the Lancers to a MWL South title.

Montgomery and junior Nolan Rinefort earned all-league honors at multiple positions. Montgomery, who led the Grizzlies with 80 tackles this season, was also a second team selection at guard. Rinefort was a second-team all-league pick at defensive back while also earning honorable mention honors at kicker.

Besides Rinefort, three other Ashland players were named to the second team — junior running back DaMario Watson, defensive lineman Nagali Jackson and defensive back Eriq Rodriguez.

Watson had a breakout junior season, rushing for 823 yards, averaging 5.2 yards per carry and scoring eight touchdowns on the ground. Playing as an undersized defensive end, the 5-foot-10, 165-pound Jackson recorded three sacks and a team-high 8 tackles for loss this past season. Rodriguez was arguably Ashland’s most consistent cornerback, recording an interception and 24 tackles.

Junior wide receiver Gabe Ekwall, the Grizzlies’ top wideout this season, was an honorable mention pick after leading Ashland in receptions (31), receiving yards (582) and touchdown catches (4).

Ashland finished with a 4-5 record in 2018, doubling its win total from the year before.

All-MWL South Football

Offensive Players Of The Year: Noah Page, Sr., Eagle Point, and Demontre Thomas, Sr., Churchill.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Beau Burnett, Sr., Churchill.

COACH OF THE YEAR: AJ Robinson, Churchill.



CENTER: Zach Iuworo, Jr., South Eugene.

GUARD: Quinn Parker, Sr., Churchill; Jahi Richardson, Sr., South Eugene.

TACKLE: Richard Estrella, Sr., Churchill; Charley Jacobson, Sr., Eagle Point.

TIGHT END/H-BACK: Anu Richardson, Sr., North Eugene.

RECEIVER: Noah Page, Sr., Eagle Point; Marshawn Tucker, Sr., Churchill; Trevor Jaasko, So., Crater.

RUNNING BACK: Devin Bradd, So., Eagle Point; Gavin Acrey, Jr., Crater; Tony Flores, Sr., Crater.

QUARTERBACK: Demontre Thomas, Sr., Churchill.

PLACEKICKER: Jacob Memmott, Jr., Crater.


LINEMAN: Jahi Richardson, Sr., South Eugene; Tony Flores, Sr., Crater; Kannon Ruano, Sr., Churchill; Hayden Gainey, Sr., Eagle Point.

LINEBACKER: Beau Burnett, Sr., Churchill; Logan Lowder, Sr., Crater; Myles Montgomery, Sr., Ashland; Mitchell Whittier, Sr., Churchill.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Dylan Kinney, Sr., Crater; Josh Hatten, Sr., Churchill; Noah Hardy, Sr., South Eugene; Kimani Quade, Sr., Churchill.

PUNTER: Perry Johnston, Jr., Churchill; Brett Stone, Sr., Ashland.



CENTER: Cole Woodke, Sr., Churchill.

GUARD: Myles Montgomery, Sr., Ashland; Andrew Barlowe, Sr., Eagle Point; Hunter Mortensen, Sr., Churchill; Gerritt Warner, Jr., Crater.

TACKLE: Jacob Dummitt, Sr., Churchill; Dawson Davis, So., Crater.

RECEIVER: Kimani Quade, Sr., Churchill; Elijah Fields, Sr., Churchill; Alec Nolan, Sr., North Eugene; Orion Garcia, Jr., South Eugene.

RUNNING BACK: DaMario Watson, Jr., Ashland; Isaac Reyna, Sr., South Eugene; Tristan Karns, Jr., North Eugene.

QUARTERBACK: Trever Davis, Jr., Crater.

PLACEKICKER: Perry Johnston, Sr., Churchill.


LINEMAN: Josh Brunson, Sr., Churchill; Cody Fisher, Sr., Crater; William Woitte, So., Crater; Nagali Jackson, Jr., Ashland.

LINEBACKER: Jake Hall, Sr., North Eugene; Edgar Bravo, Sr., Eagle Point; Dante Lallo, Sr., Eagle Point; Josh Sitzer, Sr., Eagle Point.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Eriq Rodriguez, So., Ashland; Silas Bennion, Jr., Churchill; Andrew Joseph, Jr., South Eugene; Nolan Rinefort, Jr., Ashland.



CENTER: Logan Gambill, Sr., North Eugene; Jared Odell, Sr., Crater.

GUARD: Jake Leeper, Sr., Eagle Point.

TACKLE: Jacob Memmott, Jr., Crater; Logan Kerr, Jr., North Eugene; James Degrange, Sr., South Eugene.

RECEIVER: Ethan Scott, Sr., Crater; Gabe Ekwall, Jr., Ashland.

RUNNING BACK: Deonte Jones, Jr., Churchill.

QUARTERBACK: Cameron Morgan, Sr., Eagle Point; Bryce Boettcher, Jr., South Eugene.

PLACEKICKER: Nolan Rinefort, Jr., Ashland; Aidan O’Grady, Jr., North Eugene.


LINEMAN: Jacob Hertz, Sr., South Eugene.

LINEBACKER: Hunter Brown, Jr., South Eugene; Giovanni Cecchini-Coe, Sr., South Eugene.

DEFENSIVE BACK: Cole Plum-Kazmierczak, So., North Eugene.

Contact Danny Penza at 541-776-4483 or dpenza@rosebudmedia.com. Follow him on Twitter at @penzatopaper.

Share This Story