Four Grizz boys land on MWL all-star soccer team

Conference boys runner-up Ashland placed four players on the Midwestern League All Conference soccer first team.

Ashland’s Ian Rinefort, Declan Hinkley, Jahnoi Hall and Bryce Rollins all received first-team recognition.

Raul Ochoa of league champion Springfield was picked a co-player of the year along with Cade Ficek of Marist.

In girls, Mya Elder-Hammond and Tia Wilhelm of Ashland were MWL first team choices. Eagle Point junior Stephanie Roe was also a first teamer.

Jordan Wormdahl of North Eugene was the league’s player of the year

Midwestern League All Conference


Co-Players of the Year — Cade Ficek, Marist and Raul Ochoa, Springfield

Coach of the Year — Edgar Gomez, Springfield

First Team

Ian Rinefort, Jr., Ashland; Declan Hinkley, Jr., Ashland; Jahnoi Hall, Jr., Ashland; Bryce Rollins, Sr., Ashland; Hans Elliott, Sr., Churchill; Liam Elliott, Sr., Churchill; Cade Ficek, Jr., Marist; Jose Cardenas, Jr., Marist; Joel Garcia-Cervantes, So., Marist; Jack Ferguson, Jr. North Eugene; Jorge Huaracha-Canochola, Sr., Thurston; Raul Ochoa, Sr., Springfield; Nate Shiffer, Sr., Springfield; Joseph Gonzales, Sr. Springfield; goalies: Jacob Scorse, Springfield, and Connor Fitzpatrick, Marist.

Second Team

Benjamin Lucero, Jr., Ashland; Drew Kutcher, Sr., Ashland; Sam Inada, Jr., Ashland; Ben Womack, Sr., Churchill; Ben Camp, Jr., Churchill; Oziel Aguirre, Jr., Crater; Joey Weilbrenner, Jr., Marist; Braden Coleman, Jr., Marist; Mikhail Budris, So., North Eugene; Josiah Sugai, So., Thurston; Josh Magill, Sr., Thurston; Aaron Garcia, Sr., Springfield; Henrique Almeida, Jr., Springfield; Armando Sanchez, So., Springfield; goalies: Cedar Barnes, Sr., Ashland and Orfanel Aguirre, Jr., Crater.

Honorable Mention

Dakota Dean, Sr., Churchill; Kage Jackson, Sr., Churchill; Harper Nuebeck, Fr., Churchill; Asahel Romero, So., Churchill; Jaydyn Budrow, Fr., Crater; Martin Hernandez, Fr., Eagle Point; Cody Silani, So., Eagle Point; Alex Angel, Jr., Eagle Point; Keaton Cunningham, Jr., Marist; Ryan Thielke, Sr., North Eugene; Oscar Ramos, Jr., Springfield; Ruben Mosqueda, So., Springfield; goalie: Luis Alvarado, Sr., Thurston.


Player of the Year — Jordan Wormdahl, North Eugene

Co-Coaches of the Year — Rodrigo Hernandez, Marist and Brandy Wormdahl, North Eugene

First Team

Mya Elder-Hammond, Jr., Ashland; Tia Wilhelm, Jr., Ashland; Stephanie Roe, Jr., Eagle Point; Rainy Adkins, So., Marist; Ellle Ficek, So., Marist; Kyndsi Sundberg, Jr., Marist; Jordan Wormdahl, Jr., North Eugene; Brittany Smith, Jr., North Eugene; Kara Ryker, Jr., North Eugene; Neviah Lee, Fr., Springfield; Ashley Hayes, Jr., Thurston; goalie: Ellie Cross, Marist.

Second Team

Ginny Cotton, Jr., Ashland; Miyah Moriguchi, Sr., Churchill; Shelbi Phillips, Sr., Churchill; Mckenna Gugliotta, So., Crater; Megan Kimball, Jr., Marist; Abbie Anderson, Sr., Marist; Hannah Brandt, Jr., North Eugene; Sophie Cleland, So., North Eugene; Kelsie Wilson, Jr., Springfield; Tiffany Hilkey, Jr., Thurston; Evyn Malone, Jr., Thurston; goalie: Kendal Smith, Fr., North Eugene.

Honorable Mention

Hannah Haptonstall, Jr., Ashland; Sophie Nikowski, Sr., Churchill; Madeline Young, So., Churchill; Naomi Collins, Sr., Churchill; Emercianna Reyes, Fr., Churchill; Gracen Hokanson, Fr., Crater; Kylee Smith, Jr., Eagle Point; Sarah Hayes, So., Marist; Delaney Pratt, So., Marist; Annie McNeil, Jr., Marist; Cassie Ericson, Jr., North Eugene; Lauren Martines, So., North Eugene; Aliyah Dade, Jr., Springfield; Sarah Rosander, Jr., Thurston; goalie: Catt Oswalt, Springfield.

College Athletics

The fall Cascade Collegiate Conference regular seasons and championships have come to a close, and Southern Oregon University has an early leg up in the 2016-17 CCC All-Sports Trophy race.

SOU, which claimed the trophy for the first time in its 10-year existence in 2015-16, ended the fall in first place with 114.3 points. Corban (103.9), Eastern Oregon (92.1), College of Idaho (87.9) and Northwest Christian (81.7) round out the top five in the standings, which were released Tuesday by the league office.

Points are awarded based on a school's top eight finishes in CCC regular-season standings — except in the cases of cross country and track and field, which are scored based on finishes in CCC championship meets.

The Raiders scored big on their ninth consecutive men's cross country title and split first-place points with their first co-title in women's soccer. The men's soccer team placed third, the women's cross country team was fourth and the volleyball team was fifth.

The Raider cross country teams are the last fall teams standing. They'll compete at the NAIA Championships on Saturday in Elsah, Illinois.

Share This Story